Making a Change

How do you create change in your life? I’m honestly looking for feedback. Essays have been written about whether or not true change is really possible for a human. I don’t think I doubt the human capacity for change. It is difficult, no doubt, and for some it may be near impossible, but I have known people who have made changes, big and small, for better or for worse, and have never looked back.

What does it take to implement real change? For some I’ve heard it took a cataclysmic moment. A bit of serendipity. A rock bottom. For some, it seems they just woke up one day and said “I’m going to do things differently today,” and changed cold turkey. For some, it seems like Oprah’s “it only takes 30 days for a habit to become a permanent change,” works. I call shenanigans. For me, it seems like I’m always able to make a change for 30 days, and then my mind says “Okay, you’ve done it. It’s all downhill from here!”

Day 31 would beg to differ. My rebel self says “HA! You thought you could change me? ME?! Good luck sister!”

So I want to know. What was your biggest life change, and what made it possible? Was it a moment? A thought? An ultimatum? An epiphany? An event? Or just plain hard work and determination? What happened when you felt like quitting? How did you cope? Do you feel like the change is permanent, or is it always a struggle? Were the rewards worth the sacrifices?

If you’d like to respond privately, I would love FB messages or emails. If you would like to respond publicly, I’m sure you’d be helping dozens of people in my audience! If I get enough responses, I will create a follow-up blog to summarize what I’ve learned.

Thank you all in advance for your participation!

About ariesprimrose

Charlise Primrose is a 30..blahblah year old mom of 2 gorgeous sons, and wife to a genius. She spends her time cooking (and eating), trying not to let her writing muscles atrophy, and discovering the meaning of life in her coffee cup.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

